friday likes 1/3/13

Blimey! Where did last week go? Part of adulthood seems to be accepting that the time just rushes by without you noticing. I have been to busy kicking arse at the Whippet to really do anything else this week, my apologies for the radio silence. Anyway guys, Happy March! Did anybody actually see where February went? Nevermind. March is awesome. My birthday is in March (four days, eeee!), and the weather starts to warm up. Anyway, I have been a bit remiss in my ‘likes’ this Friday, as I’ve been far too rushed for the computer to be even on most of the time (multitasking highlight of the week; rocking up to work with my grocery shop because I’d done it on the way). Nevertheless, here’s what’s been tickling my fancy:

beautifully lit up trees at early evening on the southbank.

beautifully lit up trees at early evening on the southbank.

Did anybody keep their teenage diaries? I threw mine away when I was about 18, so that this day would never happen to me. I dread to think what I wrote about, I was both undersexed and pretentious.

I like the simplicity of this poster a lot, and may print it at some point for my kitchen.

barbacoa tacos (slow cooked marinated beef) at wahaca southbank. get these on the main menu!

barbacoa tacos (slow cooked marinated beef) at wahaca southbank. get these on the main menu!

Anybody game for this? It had to happen, right?

My good friend from uni days, Sunny, got in touch recently to show me his current fashion designs and they are AMAZING. Tailoring was always his strength. My favourites are the Apollo Suit and the Black Tee Suit. I can see both working with my Docs and one of my sonic youth t shirts.

amazing street art at wahaca southbank experiment.

amazing street art at wahaca southbank experiment.

Speaking of Docs I bought a pair on Saurday from the British Boot Company in Camden. I’d highly recommend the experience; the service was great, they could answer all my questions, and the amount of boots they actually had was mindblowing. I’ll probably be going back next payday.

I have started wearing pastels again. Come on Spring!

I have started wearing pastels again. Come on Spring!

They have finally released a compilation of cooking music. It sounds crap. What do you listen to when you cook? My mileage varies, but some previous highlights have been my uni flatmates laughing at me for listening to highway to hell by AC/DC while icing cupcakes, and blasting out Lil’ Kim while I knead bread. I like my kitchen mostly to be full of energy.

I love bubble tea! Let’s make bubble tea! Normally I go to this really great place in Wood Green for it, to take the sting out of having been in Wood Green. I’ve heard good things about Bubbleology in Soho though; has anybody been?

Colour spotting on southbank; look at this graffiti!

Colour spotting on southbank; look at this graffiti!

Multitask cleaning is perfect for dirty birdies like me who hate housework more than anything else.

I only found out this week that David Bowie’s Jean Genie is about Jean Genet, one of my favourite writers! I feel silly and excited in equal measures!

So the weather gets nicer and I start listening to my Summer Day Songs again/ This one’s been on the list since university.

So I’m also fully in a Florence Phase. I love this cover of Halo.

2 thoughts on “friday likes 1/3/13

Leave a Reply

