friday likes 8/2/13

Happy Friday everybody! I have been having a good, if totally crazy one this week; what with visits to my grandmother, my little niece-I-guess Ruby’s third birthday party, Mexican food with Will on Tuesday night, plus coming down with some sort of godawful plague for the rest of my work week. I’m amazed at how quickly Friday can and does roll around, and feel like February will probably be over before I even know it. nonetheless it has been a good, thoughtful, and productive week, so I can’t say I regret the craziness. And here’s what’s been entertaining me throughout it:

will, benjy and myself at the Euston tap on Saturday afternoon, having a bit of a Southsea reunion.

will, benjy and myself at the Euston tap on Saturday afternoon, having a bit of a Southsea reunion.

So this post on how our lifestyles have already been designed is interesting. I find though, that since my 40+ hour work week is not 9-5, that I am not drawn so much into watching television; I don’t get exposed to quite so much advertising. The last genuine dissatisfaction I felt was not one I thought I could solve by spending. I wonder if I worked a different job, whether it would be different?

I think Fiona beckett and I are on a similar wine wavelength. her thoughts on cutesy wine bottles match mine almost exactly; and I did previously buy a bottle of the chat-en-ouef in question, because ha, funny, right? it was weak, man.

I’m with Hugh here, coconut milk is a proper cupboard staple in my house. These recipes are all great, but one of my favourite uses for it is in my porridge of a morning, with some nice ripe fruit. It’s that amazing kind of health giving feeling without deprivation.

carnitas tacos (confit pork with a zingy lime dressing) at wahaca charlotte street this Tuesday. To actually die for.

carnitas tacos (confit pork with a zingy lime dressing) at wahaca charlotte street this Tuesday. To actually die for.

So as you can see, I had amazing Mexican food at Wahaca Charlotte Street this Tuesday. And now my sights are set further afield. To Mexico City!

The idea of female friends influencing how you dress is not a new one. I don’t spend enough time around women to have that outside influence anymore, which might be why I find myself in a style rut more frequently. I do miss the uni days of sitting on each others beds trying outfits on, borrowing and lending, and doing makeup together before going out.

Has the guardian’s cook supplement made you want to buy the flavour thesaurus yet?? This week it’s focussed on coffee, which I think about sixty percent of my blood is composed of.

Old school lights and ironwork outside Goodge St. station.

Old school lights and ironwork outside Goodge St. station.

Speaking of old school London design; I love these photos of London underground architecture and design . I’ll be sad if some of the more characterful design elements get phased out.

On another London note, they finished messing around with Borough Market. I shall have to have an afternoon jaunt there some time for some chillies (they have so many different kinds, I get a bit excited.

I was actually a bit bowled over by the idea that the average woman’s makeup bag is worth nearly two hundred quid. Mine doesn’t even come to sixty, and i’m quite proud.

I loved fred's drawing on the staff picks board at the Euston Tap on Saturday.

I loved fred’s drawing on the staff picks board at the Euston Tap on Saturday.

Well, this article about how we talk about and buy books online was interesting. Where do you buy your books? I have a great secondhand bookshop on my doorstop and a local independent I like to frequent. I tend not to buy online unless I really can’t find it elsewhere, because I don’t find online shopping satisfying.

I have never wanted a valentine’s day present until this item was bought to my attention.

I sort of love where this piece on not being ashamed of what we have achieved or attained is coming from.

An idle rewatching of Cool Runnings this week led to the discovery of this gem. A Talking heads cover? Don’t mind if I do.

And this song is just making me wish it was summer again. Or I was going out to do karaoke soon. or I had shiny seventies hair. I don’t mind which.

One thought on “friday likes 8/2/13

  1. Pingback: friday likes 8/2/13 - Continental Food Recipes

Leave a Reply

