friday likes 25/1/13

Hello Friday! Gosh you roll around quickly these days! I have to say, it’s been a real busy one for me this week, what with no days off, and a licensing exam, and the neverending housework battle to keep my little room habitable (I’m currently losing, in case you were wondering). Still, life is good, the pub is superbly busy, I have managed to spend at least a bit of quality time with friends and family, and have managed to get a fair bit of reading and planning for the rest of the year done. So I can’t complain, and I’m not going to, because it doesn’t suit me. in that spirit, here are the things that have been keeping me chipper this week:

my street in muswell hill looking beautiful in the snow.

my street in muswell hill looking beautiful in the snow.

so this babe in the fur coat right here is my housemate maya. totally looking forward to seeing her play Juliet on stage, and these photos have only added to my excitement! She’s such a mega talented superstar, I love living with totally awesome people, it sparks my own ambition and creativity.

I found this post on food TV to be almost entirely accurate; I don’t understand why food has to be so ridiculous on television, although I wouldn’t put Masterchef in there myself as I have met a couple of winners now and they are genuinely talented, dedicated people doing wonderful things and launching legit amazing careers.

It might still be snowing but I am already bored of it and thinking about my spring wardrobe. I may try my hand at this as I think it looks cute. Brighter colours though, naturally.

even the boys have started referencing me in the red ale descriptions at work!

even the boys have started referencing me in the red ale descriptions at work!

Budget babes like me everywhere must be nodding approval at this xojane piece on nail varnish as the ultimate low cost, low maintenance fashion trip. I must have over fifty now, and whenever I’m in a vile mood, an at home mani sorts me right out. I’ve also taken to buying a new shade of lipstick to break myself out of a rut; i’m going through a huge plummy magenta stage at the moment. feels more wintery than red somehow.

It feels very unusual to me that mackerel is no longer the go-to quick winter teatime fish, but there are plenty of alternatives, and we should all be broadening our seafood minds if we want fish to stay on the menu.

Bloomsbury square, where I work, looks so beautiful in the snow.

Bloomsbury square, where I work, looks so beautiful in the snow.

Speaking of food, this piece on budget eating in the guardian avoids the pitfalls of recession chic reportage and offers practical advice. I have been, and to a certain extent, still am in this financial position, and found it rang very true.

craft beer home brew? most of my mates do it but I have yet to take the plunge. dare I? (also, this article is like a ‘how many of these people do I know through work?’ fest, ha)

now this is kicking it old school with craft. and makes me want to get messy recapturing childhood play. it’s amazing the simple techniques you forget as a grown up, no?

my joke becomes even funnier when you realize neil has a beard, I am lanky and wear leggings, and westley is small.

my joke becomes even funnier when you realize neil has a beard, I am lanky and wear leggings, and westley is small.

the guardian (I know, I am fanboying over their new cook section so much) is printing excerpts from one of my favourite cookbooks, the flavour thesaurus. not only is it a great read and useful resource, but it’s got a beautiful rainbow cover. I am addicted to new cookbooks but I always return to this one, it appeals to my theorists mind.

Speaking of cooking: on fucking up in the kitchen. It happens to all of us. My worst horror stories? Trying to bake brandysnaps for my dad, a blackened marmalade cake due to oven drama, and my first thai curry turning out off-white due to an imbalanced paste. I am sure on at least one of these occasions there were tears.

have been going down nostalgia valley with my music taste at the moment. the black ghosts are poppy, catchy, and insanely moody. which fits the bill perfectly at the moment.

also this. which I have been blaring out super loud during my bad-mood-god-I-need-a-day-off closedowns at work.

Leave a Reply

