friday likes 15/2/13

Happy Friday all! It’s been a wonderful week for me, I can barely contain myself. I’ve had visits from online friends, old university friends, old work friends, and all sorts of other people who bring excitement and colour to my life. It’s convenient timing that on Valentine’s week I’ve been reminded that my life is full of amazing, exciting, talented people that I am free to have conversations with literally any time I want. There’s nothing as happy-inducing as falling in love with your own life all over again. I also scheduled in a huge clearout because my 25th birthday is not far off and I love starting a new year in life on a clean(ish) slate, eyes forward to whatever is happening next. the cold has made me hibernate and indulge in some serious pampering, reading, and settling down to watch some delightful films. I feel energized and refreshed and now I just need it to be spring. I hope your week has been just as lovely!

A walk through Chinatown before work on Saturday for pork and red envelopes.

A walk through Chinatown before work on Saturday for pork and red envelopes.

I managed to avoid most of that whole superbowl thing a while ago, but seriously, this made me laugh a lot (especially as most of the Americans I know are of the literary persuasion). My favourite is the Virginia Woolves.

This Hilary Mantel piece on royal female bodies in the London Review of Books was fascinating.

I read the poetry section of The White Hotel just before it started snowing on Sunday.

I read the poetry section of The White Hotel just before it started snowing on Sunday.

The xojane girls always keep it real, and this article made me laugh a lot. I am super messy, but have never lost out on sex as a result; although it did make me wonder if I should clean my room more often.

Tim Anderson, chef, and top bloke in general, has written a super insightful piece on eating in Japan. Apart from making me hungry as fuck, it also made me more determined to travel this year.

A Valentine's beer yesterday at the Holborn Whippet.

A Valentine’s beer yesterday at the Holborn Whippet.

I wasn’t massively bowled over by much of New York Fashion Week (I never am, my style, as my old co-worker Dominika used to drawl, is ‘Soooo Britiiiiiish’) but damn, these nails! Who wants a manicure party? They’re so mermaid magic.

This Rookie shoot makes me want to put stars on my face and go find me a dude with a guitar to kiss. Fuck it, I’ll settle for the stars.

The three kisses were already drawn in this book when I bought it. Somebody bought somebody they love a book about flight; that's pretty beautiful.

The three kisses were already drawn in this book when I bought it. Somebody bought somebody they love a book about flight; that’s pretty beautiful.

I have been doing alpine-milkmaid style braids loads lately as I keep going to work with wet hair (yeah I know, I’ll get a cold, blahblahblah), but this is a nice variant I’m going to try.

I love how many big names were influenced by Sylvia Plath. I’ve finally gotten out of being ashamed that I spent about four years of my teens preoccupied almost entirely with her works. I remember my grandma bought me The Bell Jar for Christmas and got a hilarious reaction from the Waterstones clerk at the time.

My favourite outft this week. Braided updo, red velvet, and chinadoll makeup.

My favourite outft this week. Braided updo, red velvet, and chinadoll makeup.

I am still going through a huge Fleetwood Mac phase (have been listening to Beautiful Child, Go Your Own Way, and Rhiannon on the daily) so this article on Stevie Nicks & Christine Mcvie couldn’t have come at a better time. It made me think; I am usually the Stevie character in my female friendships, but there are a solid few where I have played more of a supporting role.

I have gotten back into goodreads in a big way….So useful for keeping track of ever increasing ‘read’ and to-read’ lists. I’m Kirsty Lou Mitchell, let’s be friends!

The best thing about it having beem Valentine’s day is you get to play this song to everyone you know, like, ever. Yeah I am THAT person. ‘Hey, dontcha s’posed to be some kind of playahhh, or somethin’?’

‘And I am not a child anymore / I’m tall enough to reach for the stars / I’m old enough to love you from afar’. Oh, Stevie.

Leave a comment